Posted by: yourparadise | August 17, 2011

Corsica: A moulting lizard

Lizards are moulting every once in a while. When the old skin is outgrown it’s replaced by a new skin. By lizards, the skin normally falls off in different pieces and not in one piece.

Another thing about lizards is that they can detach their tails. Here in Corsica you can see many lizards, with or without their tails.

A few days ago I heard a strange sound in a rose bush. I looked at what it was and saw a lizard there. The special thing about it was that it was in its moulting proces! You don’t see that so often. The lizard got Β a bit scared of me and ran away. Of course I wanted to take a picture of him, so I followed him. It seemed that this lizard was a bit slower than the others, maybe because it was busy getting its new skin. In the end I could take a perfect picture of him. I’m very pleased with the result because it’s really difficult to take a photo of a lizard, and this one is even shedding its skin!


This is the lizard. You can still see a bit of the old skin around its neck.


I even found a little piece of old skin! It has a really nice pattern and it was really soft.

This is the same photo as the first one in this post, but here you can see the old pieces of skin better.


Here you can see that the old skin is falling off.

Responses

  1. You certainly did capture a couple of real nice shots there YP… He doesn’t seem too bothered about your presence…

    • Thanks a lot! Indeed, it seemed like he wasn’t really bothered by me. I had a lot of luck haha πŸ˜‰

  2. Very interesting! AND I’m very impressed with your ability to catch up with this guy! Animals move much too quickly for me… by the time I decide to take off my lens cap they are loooong gone! Wonderful captures! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much! I was really lucky to find this lizard because this one didn’t ran (far) away haha πŸ˜‰

  3. I realy love this photos!! Brilliant!!

    • Thank you very much spiderwoman! πŸ˜€ Great to see you’re visiting my blog again πŸ˜‰

  4. Well done shots.


Leave a Reply

Categories

