Posted by: yourparadise | November 6, 2011

Colors of the Autumn

It’s already autumn here since september 23rd. The flowers are gone, the leaves are turning brown and fall of the trees. Personally I don’t really like autumn because it’s starting to get cold again, but besides that autumn is actually a nice season because of its colors. When you walk through a forest you can see a lot of different mushrooms and every leave has a different color. I also found this mushroom in the forest. To me it actually looks like a (strange) kind of bread, but apparently it’s a ‘gele knol ammoniet’. Sorry, I have no idea what that is in English. Literally it would be ‘yellow tuber ammonite’, but I’m actually really sure that is not its real name. πŸ˜‰

Hope you enjoy autumn!

Responses

  1. I know absolutely nothing about mushrooms, but your picture intrigued me so I did some research… I “think” your gele knol ammoniet is the “Amonita Citrina” or otherwise known as the “False Death Cap” in English… Wonderful shot of it though, and real nice to find such things in the wild..

    • Thank you very much! It feels great to know that the picture intrigued you. And thanks for pointing that out, my sister also told me later what the real Dutch name is, because it seems that ‘gele knol ammoniet’ is actually supposed to be ‘gele knol amaniet’ haha. I don’t like mushrooms very much, but sometimes there are really pretty ones. Thanks again!

  2. I really like the texture in this shot!
    And I have to admit I really like fall in general… although I would like it much more if it were a bit warmer and if it wasn’t so close to winter!
    πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much! I always like the beginning of a season, but later on it starts to bore me a bit hahaha.

  3. Nice picture! A very original way of photografing this mushroom!

    • Thank you, as always, spiderwoman!

  4. It actually looks kind of yummy…

    • Hahaha, still… don’t eat it! Wikipedia says that when you eat a lot of this it’s toxic. πŸ˜‰

  5. Nice shot! Never seen this mushroom before. Please say smurf to the smurfs who are smurfing there! πŸ˜€

    • Haha! Smurf you very much! (Thank you very much!) πŸ˜‰

  6. Great detail in your photo.


Leave a Reply

Categories

